Collaboration Opportunity

European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP)


The EDCTP is a public-public partnership between countries in Europe and sub-Saharan Africa, and the European Union, which is supported under Horizon 2020.

This partnership funds clinical research to accelerate the development of new or improved drugs, vaccines, microbicides and diagnostics against HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria as well as other poverty-related infectious diseases in sub-Saharan Africa, with a focus on phase II and III clinical trials.

Member countries

The 16 African members of the Association or Participating States are: Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

The 14 European members of the Association or Participating States are: Austria, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Angola and Switzerland are aspirant members.

Member countries of the EDCTP Association are also called Participating States.


EDCTP Co-investment Funding – Funding is available for South African researchers wishing to participate in the clinical trials partnership.

Top Up for EDCTP Funding Applications

Researchers who submitted proposals and have been informed that they are successful by EDCTP have a chance to access additional funding from the Department of Science and technology.

Download and complete application form available below and submit the completed application by email to

Latest Related Updates


Oops! That Page Can’t Be Found

Use the menu to find what you are looking for.